Burr Campaign Announces “Farmers for Burr” Leadership Team

Burr Campaign Announces “Farmers for Burr” Leadership Team

Raleigh, NC — The Burr campaign today announced its newest leadership team, “Farmers for Burr.” The leadership team, made up of over a dozen farmers, recognizes Senator Burr’s concerted effort to reduce burdensome federal red tape for North Carolina farmers. Agriculture is a critical element of the local economy in North Carolina, and Senator Burr continues to fight for them, whether it is stopping harmful cuts to crop insurance or pushing back on federal policies that threaten North Carolina’s farms and rural communities.

“The agriculture industry is constantly under attack by the federal government.  We need Senator Burr’s continued leadership in the Senate to ensure North Carolina agriculture industry remains as strong as ever.” – State Sen. Brent Jackson, Co-Chair of “Farmers for Burr” leadership team

“Farmers for Burr” Leadership Team

Sen. Brent Jackson: Jackson is the Founder, President, and CEO of Jackson Farming Company, Inc. located in Autryville, NC.  For over thirty years, Senator Jackson has farmed thousands of acres annually in eastern North Carolina.  Jackson has previously served as President for several agriculture industry related groups including the North Carolina Horticulture Council, Chairman of the Board of the National Watermelon Association, and Board Member of the National Watermelon Promotion Board.

Rep. Jimmy Dixon: Dixon is currently the Agriculture Committee Chairman in the North Carolina House of Representatives.  He was raised by parents who tended a farm in eastern North Carolina producing tobacco, corn, and other vegetables. Rep. Dixon now runs his family farm, where he raises thousands of chickens annually for Nash Johnson & Sons.

Rep. J.H. Langdon: Langdon is currently serving his 6th and final term in the North Carolina State House. He has been a member of the House Agriculture for all 6 terms and is a current Chair of the Committee. Rep. Langdon graduated from North Carolina State University with a degree in Agriculture Education. He is a retired educator, farmer, and professional photographer.

Harrell & Lorenda Overman: Harrell and Lorenda run Overman Farms, a family operation in Wayne County that included Harrell’s father, who first started raising hogs after serving in the U.S. Army following World War II. After dating for two years, Harrell and Lorenda got married after graduating from college. Harrell earned a degree in agronomy from N.C. State University while Lorenda obtained a biology degree from Mount Olive College. Harrell and Lorenda have three children and hope for one of them to take over the operations of Overman Farms so the family can continue in the agriculture industry into the fourth generation.

Doug Boyd: Doug Boyd is the President of 3 B Farms located in Beaufort and Washington Counties, North Carolina. 3 B Farms agricultural crops include corn, cotton, soybeans, and wheat.

Brent & Sue Leggett: Brent and Sue own and operate Leggett Farming Partnership, a first generation family farm located in Nash County, North Carolina. Currently, they grow tobacco, sweet potatoes, cotton, cucumbers, soybeans, peanuts, and strawberries. Brent also serves as the Vice President of the North Carolina SweetPotato Commission.

Richard & Ralph Renegar: Richard & Ralph Renegar are lifetime farmers, and long time supporters of Senator Richard Burr. Richard, Ralph and their family own Hunting Creek Preserve in Harmony, NC. Richard also serves as a member of the Board of Directors for the U.S. Tobacco Cooperative.

Rob Hill: Rob Hill is the President of Tull Hill Farms in Lenoir County, NC. Tull Hill Farms is a diversified farming operation producing tobacco, along with sweet potatoes, cotton, soybeans, corn, wheat and lettuce. In 2013, Tull Hill Farms was honored as the Farm Family of the Year by the Tobacco Growers Association of North Carolina. In addition, Rob serves as the President of the North Carolina SweetPotato Commission.

Jeffery Lee: Jeffery Lee is the owner of Jeffery Lee Farms in Johnston, Sampson, and Harnett Counties. He tends approximately 225 acres of tobacco, 650 acres of sweet potatoes, and 600 acres of cotton. Jeffery has served and currently serves on several agriculture boards, including the Tobacco Growers Association of North Carolina, NC Tobacco Trust Fund Commission, North Carolina SweetPotato Commission, United States Sweet Potato Council, and the North Carolina Agricultural Commissioner’s Circle.

Lawrence Davenport: Lawrence Davenport is the president of J.P. Davenport & Son, Inc., a 120-year-old family agribusiness located in Pitt County, NC. Lawrence serves on the Golden LEAF Board of Directors. He has served on the N.C. State University Chancellor’s Circle, the U.S. Advisory Commission for Tobacco Inspection.